Richland Electric Cooperative 82nd Annual Meeting

Richland Electric Cooperative enjoyed a strong turnout for the co-op's 82nd annual meeting on Saturday, April 7th at Richland Center High School.

CEO and General Manager Shannon Clark reported that the cooperative experienced a good year that is positioning the coop well for the future. Clark said that the co-op's financial condition is solid, that outages were up slightly due to a few rounds of severe weather and the co-op was able to maintain a stellar safety record. REC Board Cal Sebranek said that he and the board of directors were very pleased to have another year of safety that saw no major injuries or accidents. Sebranek said it is a goal the board to do all it can to make sure it is an achievable goal every year. Sebranek also saluted the REC staff for the installation of a technically complex metering system for the coop and the coop's continued involvement and cooperation with other cooperatives.

The Richland Electric Cooperative members elected three directors. Jeff Monson and Jim Goplin were reelected without opposition. In the only contested race, incumbent Steve Fuller was reelected over challenger Dean Scoville.

Following the annual meeting Saturday, the REC Board of Directors held its annual reorganizational meeting. Calvin Sebranek was reelected board president; Longtime Vice-President Gerald Wendorf opted not to seek reelection as an officer; Dan Hillberry was then chosen to serve as Vice-President; Judy Murphy will continue to serve as secretary and Tim Tiller was elected Treasurer, assuming the position formerly held by Hillberry.

Richland Electric Cooperative serves more than 3200 members with 987 miles of line.