Local School Board Candidates

Tuesday, January 3rd, was the filing deadline for residents to submit the necessary paperwork to appear on the ballot for the spring election cycle.

For the local school districts, there was varying amounts of interest for school boards. The Richland School Board will have three names on the ballot for two At Large positions. In addition to the incumbents Jane Williams and Shari Johnson, Grant Worthington has signed up to run. The top two vote getters for the Area #4 At Large positions on the Richland School Board will be elected in April.

The Ithaca School Board has two positions up for election this spring. They are both At Large seats. Incumbent Randy Manning has filed to run again and will appear on the spring ballot. Current Ithaca board member Heather Burch has decided not to run again. That means a seat will go unfilled unless a successful write-in campaign is waged for the second Ithaca At Large position.

The Riverdale School District will have at least one new school board member after the vote. In Area #3, incumbent Travis Hudson has signed up to run again. Area #6 incumbent Bill Tracy Jr. has also signed up for another run at that seat. Finally, in Area #7, incumbent Jamie Brownlee has signed an Declaration of non-candidacy. Chad Williamson has signed up to run for this area on the Riverdale School Board. Each of the candidates will be unopposed on the ballot in April.

The River Valley School District has three areas up for election this spring. Area #1, which consists of the Village of Arena, finds incumbent Kathy Jennings on the ballot. Jennings will be challenged in Area #1 by both Ronald Miller and Sierra Gilbertson. In Area #2, which is the Town of Arena in the River Valley School District, five individuals are vying for that position. In addition to incumbent school board member Deb Nelson, others who have filed for Area #2 include Jim Wenzler, Jeff Flint, Pamela Gauger, and Karl Nelson. Finally, in Area #4 on the River Valley Board – representing the Village of Lone Rock – current board member Brice McCauley has filed a Notification of Noncandidacy and will not be running for reelection. Dan McGuire has filed to run in Area #4 and will be the only name on the ballot this spring. Primaries will be required in both Area #1 and #2 in the River Valley School District to narrow the list of names to two. The primary election is February 21st, with the General Election set to take place on Tuesday, April 4th.